Herring tourney raises over $9,000 for scholarships

By David Johnson Sports writer

June 25, 2014

Winners in the 13th annual Albert Herring Golf Classic played at Timberlake Golf Club recently were: Reid Darden, Hayden Lanier, Freddy Bass and Melvin Vernon with the low gross score in the Championship Flight. Also winning were Don Johnson, David Heater, Dale Daggett and Cale Lee with the low net score in the Championship Flight

Others were Dally Daughtry, Jeffrey Darden, Judson Herring and Ashley McLamb in the first flight getting the low net score.

The team of Robbie Warren, Jackie Warren, Jason Warren and Hannah Warren were the winners in the low gross score in the first flight.

The tournament netted $9,500 for the M. Albert Herring Scholarship Fund for Hobbton High seniors. Those receiving scholarships for 2014 were: Hannah Marie Warren, Rayann Nicole Eldridge and Rebecca Katherine Hunter.